Select Page

24/7 Helplines

Samaritans – 116 123

Sussex Mental Health Line – 0800 0309 500

Mental Health Rapid Response Service – 0300 304 0078

Online self-help techniques, including CBT

Cumbria NHS Self-Help Leaflets Self Help Leaflets – Cumbria, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust (ntw.nhs.uk)

Every Mind Matters Every Mind Matters – NHS (www.nhs.uk)

Out-of-hours crisis prevention service

Staying Well Service Staying Well Space – Southdown

Info + help with fuel bills

Help with fuel bills (brighton-hove.gov.uk)

LEAP LEAP | The Energy and Money Saving Service | Free Advice (applyforleap.org.uk)

Food, shopping, meal deliveries and essential supplies

Go to Brighton & Hove Food Partnership website for low-cost meals for takeaway or delivery and access to emergency food parcels. https://bhfood.org.uk/

Get support with food or medicine collection at the Ageing Well website or phone 07770 061072 (Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm) https://ageingwellbh.org/

Feeling lonely

Contact NHS Volunteer Responders on 0808 196 3646 (8am to 8pm, 7 days a week)

Domestic Abuse

Call the National Domestic Abuse helpline on 0808 2000 247. Available 24/7

Emergency support

-For urgent medical help, phone NHS 111 or visit 111.nhs.uk
– support for adults at risk, phone Access Point 01273 295 555
– emergency support for child safeguarding concerns, phone 01273 335 905 or 01273 335 906
– 999

Therapy / Counselling:

Psychology Sussex: https://psychologysussex.com/

Self-Referral B&H Wellbeing Service (free nhs counselling): https://portal.spft.nhs.uk/brighton-and-hove-wellbeing-service/bws-referral

Brighton and Hove Therapy Hub: https://www.brightonandhovetherapyhub.co.uk/

AS YOU ARE: http://asyouarecentre.co.uk/ (Offers counselling and group work for depression, stress and anxiety, bereavement, relationship difficulties. For people living in Brighton, Hove, Portslade, Southwick, Shoreham, Lancing and Worthing. They offer group work, couple or individual sessions – up to 24 weekly 50 minute sessions.) Individual counselling: sliding scale of £8 – £35 per session. Duo/couples counselling: between £16 – £40 per session. Groups: some groups are FREE for other there will be a small charge.

Phoenix Psychotherapy: https://phoenixtherapypractice.co.uk/

The Rock Clinic: https://www.rockclinic.org.uk/

AAAC – trauma and abuse counselling in East Sussex: https://aaaccounsellingservice.co.uk/trauma-and-abuse/

Health In Mind: https://www.healthinmind.org.uk/

Online Free CBT: https://www.therapyforyou.co.uk/courses/online

Tolerating Distress workbook: https://www.cci.health.wa.gov.au/Resources/Looking-After-Yourself/Tolerating-Distress

Egg Shell Therapy: information/therapy on emotional intensity https://eggshelltherapy.com/

General:

Gingerbread for Single Parents: https://www.gingerbread.org.uk/

The Menopause Doctor: https://www.newsonhealth.co.uk/

Self Harm Key Notes by Pooky Knightsmith: KEYNOTE: Self-Harm – What? Why? Help! – Dr Pooky Knightsmith

Sexual abuse/sexual assault:

Survivors Network: Home – Survivors Network

Lifecentre: Lifecentre – Your story. Our journey. (W Sussex equivalent of survivor’s network for those living in Southwick)

Into the Light: Into The Light: counselling, support for adult survivors of sexual sbuse

Cancer:

Horizon Macmillan Centre: https://www.macmillan.org.uk/cancer-information-and-support/get-help/centres/macmillan-horizon-centre can offer therpaies, accupuncture etc for pain

Anger:

Anger course https://www.nhsinform.scot/illnesses-and-conditions/mental-health/mental-health-self-help-guides/problems-with-anger-self-help-guide/

Suicidal Help

Get Self Help for Suicidal Thoughts: https://www.getselfhelp.co.uk/suicidal-thoughts-a-guide/

Living Well Programme

Living Well Program: https://www.sussexcommunity.nhs.uk/services/living-well-programme/108996

Relationship Advice:

Relate: https://www.relate.org.uk/relationship-help/help-relationships/relationship-counselling

Self Help:

Get Self Help: https://www.getselfhelp.co.uk/

NHS Self Help Leaflets: https://web.ntw.nhs.uk/selfhelp/

Childhood Sexual Abuse Therapy:

SafeLine: https://www.safeline.org.uk/ / 0808 800 5005

MH Medication info finder:

Choice and Medication: https://www.choiceandmedication.org/humber/

Perinatal Medication: https://www.medicinesinpregnancy.org/Medicine–pregnancy/

Information on Therapy / Counselling:

NHS info on Talking Therapies and Counselling: https://www.nhs.uk/mental-health/talking-therapies-medicine-treatments/talking-therapies-and-counselling/

B&H Wellbeing Talking Therapies info: https://www.brightonandhovewellbeing.org/talking-therapies

NHS info on CBT: https://www.nhs.uk/mental-health/talking-therapies-medicine-treatments/talking-therapies-and-counselling/cognitive-behavioural-therapy-cbt/overview/

Self-Help Anxiety Techniques:

Mind – Info on Panic Attacks: https://www.mind.org.uk/information-support/types-of-mental-health-problems/anxiety-and-panic-attacks/panic-attacks/#WhatHelpsToManagePanicAttacks

Mind – Tips for Grounding (PDF): https://www.firstpersonplural.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/Tips-for-grounding.pdf

5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Grounding Technique (PDF): https://www.bgcmd.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/Grounding-Exercise.pdf

Mind –Side by Side: https://sidebyside.mind.org.uk/

Self-Help Paranoia (Mind): https://www.mind.org.uk/information-support/types-of-mental-health-problems/paranoia/helping-yourself/

Suicide Prevention:

Stay Alive: https://www.stayalive.app/

Suicide Prevention Sussex: https://www.preventingsuicideinsussex.org/

Self-Help Anxiety Apps:

Smiling Mind – free mindfulness advice: https://www.smilingmind.com.au/

Calm: https://www.calm.com/

Insight Timer: https://insighttimer.com/

Headspace: https://www.headspace.com/collections/uk-collection

iBreathe (for Beginners): https://apps.apple.com/us/app/ibreathe-relax-and-breathe/id1296605806

Shine (for POC): https://www.theshineapp.com/

What’s Up? https://apps.apple.com/gb/app/whats-up-a-mental-health-app/id968251160

Smiling Mind: https://apps.apple.com/gb/app/smiling-mind/id560442518

MyPossibleSelf: https://apps.apple.com/gb/app/mypossibleself-mental-health/id1278247127

Catch It: https://apps.apple.com/gb/app/catch-it-making-sense-of-your-moods/id899606280

MindShift (Young Adults, Late Teens) https://apps.apple.com/gb/app/mindshift-cbt-anxiety-canada/id634684825

Chill Panda: https://apps.apple.com/gb/app/chill-panda/id1184256407

Information on Depersonalisation:

Mind – Self-Help for Depersonalisation: https://www.mind.org.uk/information-support/types-of-mental-health-problems/dissociation-and-dissociative-disorders/self-care/

Depersonalization, Derealization, and Panic Disorder: https://www.verywellmind.com/depersonalization-and-derealization-2584238#toc-managing-symptoms

Managing Depersonalisation: https://www.calmclinic.com/anxiety/symptoms/derealization

LGBT+:

The Clare Project – transgender support and social group: https://clareproject.org.uk/

Brighton & Hove LGBT Switchboard: https://www.switchboard.org.uk/

MindOut – MH charity for LGBTQIA community: https://mindout.org.uk/

Refugees:

Voices in Exile – supporting refugees, asylum seekers and those with no recourse to public funds: https://www.voicesinexile.org/

Sanctuary on Sea: https://brighton-and-hove.cityofsanctuary.org/local-resources

BERTS: https://brightonandhovecbt.com/BERTS.html BRIGHTON EXILED/REFUGEE TRAUMA SERVICE (BERTS)

Drinking:

Drinkline: 24/7 – 0800 917 8282

GOAL: www.thegoalgroup.co.uk Tel: 07977591291

Family Mental Health Support:

Holding Space – family mh support in East Sussex: https://www.holdingspace.org.uk/

Family Service Directory (B&H): http://www.familyinfobrighton.org.uk/kb5/brighton/fsd/home.page

Bereavement:

Cruse: https://www.cruse.org.uk/ / 0808 808 1677

Bereavement Advice Centre: https://www.bereavementadvice.org/ Tel: 0800 634 9494

Sue Ryder Online Support: https://www.sueryder.org/how-we-can-help/online-bereavement-support

The Good Grief Trust: https://www.thegoodgrieftrust.org/

Covid Bereavement Support: https://sudden.org/covid-19-bereavement/

Intrusive Thoughts of Harming Children:

Stop it Now!: https://www.stopitnow.org.uk/helpline/ / 0808 1000 900

Adult Health and Social Care:

A Band of Brothers (A national charity established by men committed to positive social change through personal development and community building. A band of Brothers supports young men in making a healthy transition to adult manhood and creates powerful mentoring networks that they can call upon in times of need.): https://abandofbrothers.org.uk/

Family Information Service B&H: https://www.brighton-hove.gov.uk/families-children-and-learning/childcare-and-family-support/family-information-service-fis

Audio Hallucinations:

Hearing Voices Brighton: https://www.hearing-voices.org/groups/brighton-hearing-voices/

Children / Young People

  • Therapy:

Esteem: https://esteem.org.uk/

The Young People’s Support Network: http://youngpeoplescentre.org.uk/counselling/

YMCA Dialogue Counselling Service: https://www.ymcadlg.org/what-we-do/health-and-wellbeing/ymca-dialogue-counselling-services/

  • LGBT+:

Allsorts Youth Project: https://www.allsortsyouth.org.uk/

  • Homelessness:

YMCA Youth Advice Centre: https://www.ymcadlg.org/what-we-do/support-and-advice/youth-advice-centre-yac/

Clock Tower Sanctuary: https://www.thects.org.uk/

  • Family mediation:

YMA YAC Talk it Over: https://www.ymcadlg.org/what-we-do/support-and-advice/youth-advice-centre-yac/ymca-yac-talk-it-over/

  • Refugees:

Refugee Charity UK – Hummingbird Project Brighton: https://www.hummingbirdproject.org.uk/

  • SEND:

Amaze (for families w/ disabled children and young people): https://amazesussex.org.uk/

  • General Mental Health:

The Mix (under 25s): https://www.themix.org.uk/

YoungMinds: https://www.youngminds.org.uk/

E-Wellbeing: https://e-wellbeing.co.uk/

  • Crisis:

PAPYRUS: https://www.papyrus-uk.org/

  • Bereavement:

Winston’s Wish: https://www.winstonswish.org/

The Good Grief Trust: https://www.thegoodgrieftrust.org/find-support/for-young-people/

Jigsaw South East: https://www.jigsawsoutheast.org.uk/ Tel: 01342 313895

  • Sexual abuse:

Children and Young People’s Service – Survivors Network: https://survivorsnetwork.org.uk/get-help/children-young-people/

  • Living with a family member with substance use:

Oasis Project (support for people affected by drugs and alcohol): https://www.oasisproject.org.uk/

Homelessness:

Street Link: https://www.streetlink.org.uk/

Sussex Night Stop: https://www.sussexnightstop.org.uk/

Antifreeze – Off The Fence: https://www.offthefence.org.uk/antifreeze

Brighton Advice Centre: https://www.bht.org.uk/services/legal-advice/brighton-advice-centre/

Legal Advice:

Brighton Advice Centre: https://www.bht.org.uk/services/legal-advice/brighton-advice-centre/

Lawstop – Housing, Education, Community Care & Public Law https://www.lawstop.co.uk/

Benefits advice:

Brighton Advice Centre: https://www.bht.org.uk/services/legal-advice/brighton-advice-centre/

St Luke’s Advice Service: https://www.stlukesadviceservice.org.uk/

Stalking:

National Stalking Helpline: https://www.suzylamplugh.org/Pages/Category/national-stalking-helpline Telephone: 0808 802 0300
Monday to Friday, 9:30am to 4pm (except Wednesday 9:30am to 8pm)

Protection Against Stalking: https://www.protectionagainststalking.org/

Veritas Justice – stalking advocacy organisation: https://veritas-justice.co.uk/

Domestic abuse:

RISE: https://www.riseuk.org.uk/

Civil Order – apply for domestic violence protection order – this helps dv victims and families

IMatter (Victim Support): https://www.victimsupport.org.uk/more-us/why-choose-us/specialist-services/imatter/

Domestic Violence Parent’s Guide: https://www.youngminds.org.uk/parent/a-z-guide/domestic-violence/

Beyond Abuse: Stonewall Housing (refuge): https://stonewallhousing.org/project/beyond-abuse-brighton/

Sexual assault/Sexual abuse:

Survivor’s Network: https://survivorsnetwork.org.uk/get-help/

Male Survivor’s Network: https://survivorsnetwork.org.uk/get-help/male-survivors/

Substance use:

Brighton and Hove Recovery Service: https://www.changegrowlive.org/brighton-hove-recovery-service/info

Oasis Project: https://www.oasisproject.org.uk/

Male:

MenWalkTalk Charity: https://menwalktalk.co.uk/

Men in Sheds: https://www.fabrica.org.uk/sheds

CALM (Calm Against Living Miserably): https://www.thecalmzone.net/

Mankind: https://mkcharity.org/

Respect – Men’s Advice Line: https://mensadviceline.org.uk/

Survivors’ UK: https://www.survivorsuk.org/

  • Childhood Sexual Abuse Therapy:

SafeLine: https://www.safeline.org.uk/ / (national male survivor helpline) 0808 800 5005

Female:

Oasis Project – give hope to people affected by drugs and alcohol: https://www.oasisproject.org.uk/

Brighton Women’s Centre: https://womenscentre.org.uk/

Gateway Women’s Centre – Women’s Crisis Support (Off The Fence): https://www.offthefence.org.uk/gateway

Menopause MH Info: https://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/a-to-z/m/menopause

Self-Injury Support – offers helpline service for women of any age who self-harm, as well as text and email services for women under 24: www.selfinjurysupport.org.uk / phone: 0808 800 8088 (Monday – Thursday 7pm-10pm) / text: 07800 472908 (women and girls under 24 only – Sunday – Friday 7pm-9pm)

Bloom Café and Hope Centre: https://stpetersbrighton.org/safehaven/

PMDD: https://www.mind.org.uk/information-support/types-of-mental-health-problems/premenstrual-dysphoric-disorder-pmdd/about-pmdd/

Sex Workers:

Oasis Project – give hope to people affected by drugs and alcohol: https://www.oasisproject.org.uk/

Terrence Higgins Trust: https://www.tht.org.uk/centres-and-services/brighton-and-hove

Carers:

Carer’s Hub Brighton: https://carershub.co.uk/

Debt:

Money Advice Plus: https://www.moneyadviceplus.org.uk/

Money Works: https://www.bht.org.uk/services/legal-advice/brighton-advice-centre/moneyworks/

ASD:

Assert – supporting autistic adults: https://assertbh.org.uk/

ADHD:

Psychiatry UK: https://psychiatry-uk.com/right-to-choose/ (Personally, I can refer to these people directly once the form has been completed and sent back to the surgery (Benfield), it’s a less longer waiting list than local neuro dept which is 2 years) *If I have sent this document to you, I don’t know what your surgeries policy on ADHD referral is, it might differ*

Work and Mental Health:

Work and Wellbeing Sussex: https://www.southdown.org/work-and-wellbeing-sussex

Out of ours:

Staying Well Space: https://www.southdown.org/StayingWellSpace

Sussex Mental Healthline: https://www.sussexpartnership.nhs.uk/sussex-mental-healthline

General Mental Health:

Preston Park Recovery Centre – Southdown: https://www.southdown.org/how-we-help/mental-health-recovery/preston-park-recovery-centre-brighton-hove

Recovery College – Southdown: https://www.southdown.org/recovery-college-brighton-hove

HIV:

Terrence Higgins Trust: https://www.tht.org.uk/centres-and-services/brighton-and-hove

Adult Children of Alcoholics or Dysfunctional Families:

ACA UK: https://www.adultchildrenofalcoholics.co.uk/

Al-Anon UK: https://www.al-anonuk.org.uk/

Mental Health and Criminal Justice System:

Mendods: https://www.rethink.org/help-in-your-area/services/criminal-justice/mendos/

Sussex Prisoners’ Families: https://www.sussexprisonersfamilies.org.uk/

Survivors of suicide:

Survivors of Suicide (SOS): https://www.rethink.org/help-in-your-area/services/community-support/survivors-of-suicide-sos-brighton-hove/

Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide: https://uksobs.org/

Perinatal Mental Health:

  • Baby Loss:

The Lullaby Trust: www.lullabytrust.org.uk

SANDS : www.lullabytrust.org.uk
Tommys: www.tommys.org/baby-loss-support

www.childbereavementuk.org/when-your-baby-dies

You could email this lady if she is still working in this role, she may have more local knowledge:

Shelley Trigwell

Pregnancy Loss Lead Midwife

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust

  • Post-termination counselling:

Abortion & Vasectomy Counselling Services: https://www.msichoices.org.uk/other-services/counselling/

Harbour Counselling: https://www.harbourcounselling.org.uk/

  • Miscarriage Support

Miscarriage Association: http://www.miscarriageassociation.org.uk

Harbour Counselling (B&H): https://www.harbourcounselling.org.uk/contact

Pregnancy Loss – BSUH Maternity (B&H): https://www.bsuh.nhs.uk/maternity/our-services/specialist-support/pregnancy-loss/

  • Post Natal Depression

Pandas Foundation: recourse for women with post-natal depression, has helpline: https://pandasfoundation.org.uk/ / 0808 1961 776

  • Therapies

Perinatal Treatment – giving free online information and therapies for new mums (and dads): https://perinataltreatment.wpcomstaging.com/

  • Apps

Peanut – support app for mums: https://www.peanut-app.io/

Let’s Mush – peer support app for mums: https://letsmush.com/

  • Support for mums with crying babies

Cry-Sis: (for parents when babies persistently cry) https://www.cry-sis.org.uk/ / 08451 228 669 – Lines open 7 days a week 9am-10pm

  • Premature Babies

Birth Stories – BSUH Maternity: Birth Stories gives women, especially those who may have experienced their labour as traumatic, the opportunity to talk through any aspect of their experience. It provides a one to one session with your obstetric notes available. Partners are welcome to attend. https://www.bsuh.nhs.uk/maternity/our-services/specialist-support/birth-stories/

Birth Trauma Associationhttps://www.birthtraumaassociation.org.uk/

Bliss – for babies born premature or sick: https://www.bliss.org.uk/

Perinatal Dads:

Dad’s in Mind: https://www.dadsinmind.org/

Dad’s Matter: https://www.dadsmatteruk.org/

Boredrline Personality Disorders:

BPD World – provides info and support for those affected by personality disorders: www.bpdworld.org

Time to Change – offers space for people to tell their own story: www.time-to-change.org.uk/category/blog/borderline-personality-disorder

Out of the Fog – offer information and support for family and loved ones of those who suffer with personality disorders: https://outofthefog.website/

Personality Disorders:

The Lighthouse: https://www.communityroots.org.uk/services/lighthouse